Yeah, But It’s Not Nearly As Good as the Book

I’m re-reading Fahrenheit 451 for the  first time in a few years.

Last time I read it,  I realized that one of my favorite lines from the movie is not in the book: “You’re not living. You’re just killing time.”

Likewise, there’s a lot about the book that I tend to think is in the movie, but which actually is not. The Hound for example. And Faber. Also, I always think of Mildred as Mildred. Never Linda.

Still, I love the movie. Maybe because I was raised on it. Maybe because the technology of the time forced an emotionally eloquent simplicity into the story, that beautifully echos Bradbury’s poetic writing.

We so often expect the movie to fall short of the book, that we don’t often mention the movies that are as good (if different) than the book they’re based on or that exceed the book in greatness.

Here’s my list of movie adaptations that live up to their books:

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

The Last  of The Mohicans

The Great Gatsby (1974)

Fahrenheit 451

The Wizard of Oz

Gone With the Wind

The Princess Bride

A Clockwork Orange

The Shawshank Redemption

The Maltese Falcon

The Shining

A Muppet Christmas Carol

 

What would you add?

Yeah, But It’s Not Nearly As Good as the Book

One thought on “Yeah, But It’s Not Nearly As Good as the Book

Leave a Reply

